DUI Laws Alabama
Dothan DUI Lawyers
An arrest for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or a controlled substance conviction carries heavy consequences that will affect your everyday life. However, an arrest does not guarantee a conviction. You could prevent a guilty conviction by hiring the best defense attorney at Dothan Law Group. It is critical to have one of the best, most knowledgeable DUI lawyers in Alabama on your side to navigate you through the legal process and consequences.
The legal team at Dothan Law Group will aggressively defend you against your charges to reduce the consequences and penalties you may have been imposed.
Driving Under the Influence Laws in Alabama
Under the Dothan law, it is illegal to drive if your blood contains more than 0.08 percent, by weight, of alcohol. This is called your blood-alcohol content, or BAC. If you are younger than the legal drinking age, your BAC cannot be higher than 0.02. If you are driving a commercial vehicle, your BAC cannot be above 0.04.
What Happens From an Alabama DUI Conviction?
The possible consequences from a DUI conviction vary on a case-by-case basis. However, some constants do exist, such as:
Administrative License Suspension
In Alabama, you must request an administrative hearing within 10 days of the date of the DUI arrest in order to avoid license suspension.
Mandatory License Suspension or Revocation
If convicted of a DUI, you could face a mandatory license suspension or revocation.
- First offense conviction – 90 day suspension (which may be stayed if the convicted offender agrees to install ignition interlock for 90 days)
- Second offense conviction (within the past ten years) – one year revocation
- Third offense conviction (without regard to dates of the previous convictions) – three year revocation
- Fourth offense conviction (without regard to dates of the previous convictions) – five year revocation
If convicted of a DUI, a monetary fine will be imposed ranging from $500 to $10,000.
Jail time may be avoided after a DUI conviction. However, repeat offenders’ sentences could range from 48 hours to 10 years.
State approved DUI school will be required for first time offenders from a DUI conviction.
Ignition Interlock Device
An ignition interlock device is a mechanism that is attached to a car, and it prevents the car from starting unless the driver blows into the device. A penalty from a DUI arrest could be to have an ignition interlock device installed from 6 months to 6 years.
DUI Test Refusal and License Suspension
If the police suspect you are driving under the influence, they may ask you to participate in a field sobriety test or a breathalyzer test. A breathalyzer is a small device that measures alcohol content in your breath. You can refuse to take these tests but in doing so, could result in the suspension of your driving privilege. Additionally, failing to participate in a field sobriety test could result in your arrest. If you refuse a test after being arrested, the Department of Public Safety may begin an administrative suspension that takes effect 45 days after your arrest. You must act quickly once you are arrested by contacting Dothan Law Group. Our experienced attorneys could help you restore your privileges or shorten your suspension time.
Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer in Dothan, Alabama
In order to prevent a DUI conviction, make sure to contact an experienced defense attorney as soon as possible after your arrest. Dothan Law Group can build an effective defense strategy by using their resources and experienced skills in litigating Alabama DUI cases in order to help you get the best results on your Alabama drunk driving charge.